Colourpop No Filter Foundation(s) Review | Lightest Shade, Dry Skin

Hi guys, today I’m finally getting around to reviewing the Colourpop No Filter Foundation(s). I shared my first impressions back in November and told you I’d do full reviews when I’d had a bit of time to play with them. After a quick Twitter poll, I’ve decided to review both of their No Filter Foundations together and compare them. You guys said you’d rather see a side by side than two separate reviews, so that’s what we’re doing.  

Spoiler: I like one way more than the other.  

As this is a two in one and my foundation reviews are usually ridiculously long anyway, please prepare for this to be longer than your dissertation.  

colourpop no filter

Brand Overview  

As I’m sure many of you know, Coloupop are an online retailer based in California. They’re known for being budget friendly, I kinda see them on as a similar level as Revolution? The brand is cruelty free and both of these foundations are vegan friendly. 

Shades  

The No Filter Liquid comes in an impressive 42 shades, the stick has a respectable 30. I have the lightest shade, 05 in both of these formulas, but it’s described as a slightly different shade. The stick says ‘Warm foundation with subtle yellow undertones for very fair skin tones’ and the liquid says ‘Neutral foundation with subtle yellow undertones for very fair skin tones’. Not much difference, but it’s worth noting when there are so many shades to choose from. 

On my skin I find 05 to be almost perfect in both. It is ever so slightly too light but not so light that I’d need to go up a shade if I bought again. You’ll see in the swatches that the liquid comes up a very similar shade to Fenty 100, which is the palest shade I currently have in my collection. 

I have really pale, slightly olive toned skin and usually prefer neutral undertones. I find warmer yellows often make me look ill seeing how my skin leans ever so slightly, green? I’m not a nice golden olive, I’m more of a ‘does she have jaundice?’ olive.  

Swatches

I took some pictures with other foundations for you to compare.  I’ve said this a million times before, but my hands are a lot darker than my face/ neck/ chest which is why the shades look off in the photos. The swatches include the Revolution foundations; I don’t consider those to be some of my paler ones but it’s a shade range I think a lot of people will be familiar with. 

Left to Right: Colourpop No Filter Liquid 05, Fenty Foundation Shade 100 (before the ‘dry down’), Revolution Pro Foundation Drops F1

Left to Right: Colourpop No Filter Foundation Stix 05, Revolution Fast Base F1, Bobbi Brown Skin Stick Alabaster My hand is red because I’d just removed the other swatches, sorry for the tone difference!

 

Price  

As I mentioned before, they’re a very affordable brand. The liquid retails for $12 and the stick is $10 (although they’re both on sale when this is going up).  

The liquid is slightly smaller than most foundations, being only 25ml compared to the regular 30ml. I tend to find the amount you get in sticks varies a lot, but this one is 9.5g. For reference, the Bobbi Brown stick is 9g and the Revolution Fast Base is 6.2g  

Application  

This is where it gets interesting. Those of you who read my first impressions may recall that I first tried these when my skin was recovering from an outbreak. My skin was incredibly dry and I was taking the state of my skin into consideration as I wrote how they performed. Yes, they were clinging to dry patches, but even my most dewy foundations were them.  

Stick  

As my skin recovered, which is still dry, I noticed a big difference. The stick was still dragging on my skin, the liquid got much easier to blend. I find the stick quite difficult to blend out, it drags on dry patches and I fit it takes quite a lot of product for it to blend easily.  I’ve tried it with both a Beauty Blender and the Zoeva Face Shape brush (which is usually my favourite for sticks) and I’m still not a huge fan. Of course, it is winter in the UK and my skin is dry, so this one could perform better over summer. 

Liquid  

The liquid surprised me, it’s a natural matte foundation and I was expecting to have to put some work in prepping my skin for it to look good. I was wrong. If you read my November Favourites, you’ll know that I love how this one looks mixed with Rimmel Wake Me Up for a natural, healthy skin look.  

But I’ve recently been wearing it alone to be able to review it fairly. I’ve found that as long as my skin has had a heavy moisturiser or an oil applied the night before, it blends really nicely. It does have a matte finish, but not too drying. As it’s matte, it will cling to the really dry bits but blends well on ‘average’ dry skin. 

Wear  

As you can imagine, the one that doesn’t apply well doesn’t wear all that well either. Sometimes stick foundations can go on dry because of the stick formula but the oils from the foundation come through when it’s applied and settles at a natural finish. I’m afraid this one does not do that. I don’t think I’ve worn this one yet for a long day because of this reason. I’ve also found that this one seems to emphasise texture a lot more as the day goes on.  

The liquid does hold up well. I find that powder products wear really well on top of it and it still looks pretty good after a full day. If it clung to the really dry bits when first applied then they will be slightly more visible as the day goes on. But this doesn’t magically disappear from my nose like some do and I haven’t found it separating throughout the day either. Unless the skin underneath is really dry, I don’t think it emphasises dryness more as the day goes on.  

no filter foundation

Overall  

It’s pretty obvious that I have a clear winner here. I don’t think the stick is an awful foundation, but I don’t think it’s that good on dry skin. I was really shocked by these two, I’d watched and read reviews of both before purchasing and most people seem to prefer the stick? Can’t relate.  

In the two months or so that I’ve had them, I’ve worn the stick a handful of times purely because it takes so much effort to blend out and look good. The liquid, on the other hand, was my most used foundation in December.  

Maybe if you have more normal skin, you’ll get on with the stick better than I did but I’m a very big fan on the liquid.  

Would I repurchase?  

Erm… I already have. As Coloupop are in California, shipping can be expensive unless you’re placing a large order. They had free international shipping one weekend before Christmas and I took advantage and picked up another bottle of the liquid. I can’t see myself repurchasing the stick, which is a shame as that’s the product I was most excited about when I placed my first order.  

Have you guys tried either of these? What are your thoughts? Are you shocked by my reaction? If you have tried the stick and I’m missing something when it comes to blending, please let me know!  

Until next time,  

Sophie 

Follow:
Share:

34 Comments

  1. 6th January 2019 / 9:02 am

    I love the sound of the liquid foundation! I never seem to have a good experience with sticks – whether it’s concealer, foundation etc so I tend to stay clear of those. Love the review! xx

    https://www.chloexlizabeth.com/

  2. 6th January 2019 / 9:28 am

    This was a great review and thankyou for including the Revolution foundations in your swatches because now I can use it for reference when I purchase some! I definitely want to try the liquid foundation after reading this, I’m not too fussed about stick foundations, the only one I’ve ever tried is the Revolution one and while I don’t mind it it’s not my favourite! Thanks for sharing this lovely, I’m gutted I didn’t know about the free international shipping because I really wanted Colourpop’s eyeshadow palette from their holiday collection!

    Jess // foundationsandfairytales.wordpress.com
    xx

  3. 6th January 2019 / 9:53 am

    I have still to try anything from Colourpop, but I sure am very tempted! These foundations sound very good, I want to try out the liquid foundation for sure

    Mel | Moonlight Mel

  4. 6th January 2019 / 11:35 am

    I’ve never tried Colourpop makeup but I’ve heard lots of great things about it so maybe I will buy some in the future!

    Nicola
    http://nicshealthylife.co.uk

  5. 6th January 2019 / 12:02 pm

    I did a Colourpop haul about two years back and got some products I thought I’d love but to be honest I’ve barely touched any of them and ended up giving most of it away! I haven’t tried much from them but people do tend to rave about the quality of their makeup. I’ve never tried a stick foundation but it’s mainly because I always think of it as a really heavy and thick coverage which I’m really not into anymore. Plus from what you’ve said, it sounds like it’s a lot of effort to apply and get right, too haha! The liquid one sounds fabulous and if you’ve already bought another then I might just have to try it for myself. The bottle is so cute, too!
    Alice Xx

  6. 6th January 2019 / 3:29 pm

    I choked on my tea at “does she have jaundice” olive. I’m the same, I would describe my complexion as almost olive. I don’t really wear makeup but the liquid sounds really interesting, think I would lose patience with the stick. Great post =)

    Hayley x
    educatinghayley.com

  7. 6th January 2019 / 5:49 pm

    I received a liquid lipstick from Colorpop as a gift and love it. I don’t think I’d order the foundation though as I have one that suits me already.

  8. 6th January 2019 / 7:06 pm

    Great comparison review! I really got a good understanding for both products. I think it’s okay that one works better than the other. At least you gave both a go and know for sure what works best for you!

  9. 6th January 2019 / 8:07 pm

    I’ve actually never tried anything from Colourpop but I always really like the look of their products (and the packaging). I think you’re bang on with the Revolution comparison with that. I also have really dry skin and I’ve never actually tried a stick foundation cause I am way too scared of how cakey and clown-like I’d end up looking! But the liquid looks like a really good option and I love that they have a decent shade range, as I struggle to find things that work for me. I’ll definitely be checking this out!
    Beth x Adventure & Anxiety

  10. 6th January 2019 / 8:12 pm

    I’ve never really tried any Colour Pop products purely because of the fact they’re over seas, and the shipping although I have been meaning to for a while now! I suffer with dry patches skin especially through out the colder months, so I’ll be staying away from the foundation stick.

  11. 6th January 2019 / 8:17 pm

    The liquid foundation sounds amazing for it’s price point- I’ve always been intrigued by stick foundations as I’ve never tried one but will definitely be giving this one a miss! I’ve heard so many other people rave about the brand though and I think their packaging is really cute so will keep an eye out for that free international shipping!

    Soph – https://sophhearts.com x

  12. 6th January 2019 / 8:29 pm

    As I have dry skin, I think I’ll give the stick a miss. It doesn’t sound the best suited, the liquid one seems like it would be worth a try though. The packaging is also super pretty. Great review xx

    Hannah | luxuryblush

  13. 6th January 2019 / 8:36 pm

    I don’t think I have ever tried a stick foundation. I don’t really wear foundation but when I do, I use a liquid one. Love the sound of the color pop no filter one!

  14. 7th January 2019 / 1:36 am

    It is interesting to see foundation sticks being a big thing. I love it when there’s a perfect shade for your skin without all of the mixing. It is neat to see how Colourpop goes against Fenty. I think it is interesting to see the difference between the two types. It’s a bummer that the stick wasn’t all that great. Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

    Nancy ♥ exquisitely.me

  15. 7th January 2019 / 5:05 pm

    I haven’t tried ColourPop make up, but I’ve always heard amazing things, I need to try them and see what is vegan first!

    Love, Amie ❤
    The Curvaceous Vegan

  16. 7th January 2019 / 5:06 pm

    I’ve been wanting to try colourpop for ages now so I’ll have to try the liquid foundation, I love the sound of if! X

  17. 7th January 2019 / 5:08 pm

    I’ve not heard of either of these (I’m not a huge makeup person) but this year I want to try and find some makeup which works for me. So I think I will try the liquid one and see how it goes as I’m not sure I would be any good with the stick and having to do all the blending. Great post as always.

  18. 7th January 2019 / 5:12 pm

    I have the exact opposite skin type to you, oily T zone with normal cheeks. So I don’t tend to wear foundation as I can’t find anything that will stay the course, even with a primer. But it’s interesting to read your impressions and it just goes to show that you shouldn’t always read everything you read, you need to try for yourself! x

    Lisa | http://www.lisasnotebook.com

  19. 7th January 2019 / 5:35 pm

    The liquid sounds great, I really love the cute bottle with the stars on it! I’ve never tried a stick foundation before, it always seems like it would takes ages to apply. I’m glad you had such a positive experience with the liquid and that it was your most used foundation last month! I’ll defo have to keep an eye out for the free international shipping as Colourpop is really good value! Thanks for sharing your review Sophie! <3 xx

    Bexa | http://www.hellobexa.com

  20. 7th January 2019 / 5:42 pm

    I’ve been looking for a new foundation, so I think I’m going to have to give them a try. I have combination skin, but from what you’re describing here I think the stick would drive me nuts in some areas of my face lol
    Britt | http://alternativelyspeaking.ca

  21. 7th January 2019 / 6:12 pm

    Oooooh I wonder if I can purchase this brand in the UK and give it a go. Fab read thank you.

  22. 7th January 2019 / 6:23 pm

    I haven’t tried Colorpop yet but really want too because of it’s affordability and quality. Also the fact that they have so many shades… I’m in Oregon USA so my shipping should be fast and affordable for me (thankful) Thank you for a great, detailed review. I think if I try it I will probably get the liquid formula.

  23. 7th January 2019 / 8:55 pm

    I love the look of both products but its a shame the stick dragged on dry patches of skin i would probably opt for the liquid if i was too buy some ive heard a lot about colourpop and theyre are a brand ive been meaning to try

    Bethany lauren | http://www.quirksandqueries.com

  24. 7th January 2019 / 9:19 pm

    I have been meaning to try Color Pop. But when it comes to foundation I do find the more expensive ones are better and yes most sticks are way too drying. But I want to try a couple of Color Pop’s palettes.

    Allie of
    http://www.allienyc.com

  25. 7th January 2019 / 9:39 pm

    I’ve never heard of this brand. I like the sound of the liquid foundation, I have really dry skin too so this looks liek the best option for me as well! A great review 🙂

    Ashley
    https://lellalee.com

  26. 7th January 2019 / 10:06 pm

    I’m always looking for good cheap foundation. Thanks for the review. I’m going to try this.

  27. 8th January 2019 / 10:18 pm

    Love this review! I’ve only bought from colour pop on one occasion purely due to the fact that the shipping is sooooo expensive, that being said the liquid foundation seems really really nice, plus the packaging is so cute! The stick foundation is so disappointing, to be honest I’ve never bothered to dabble in stick foundations as they just seem to kinda scare me haha

  28. 11th January 2019 / 10:53 am

    I don’t have particularly dry skin so the stick would be okay but I do get breakouts so I’d worry it’d make them even more noticable. I’ve never tried Colourpop but I’ve heard great things. I also wasn’t aware it was so affordable!

  29. 11th January 2019 / 9:48 pm

    The liquid foundation looks so nice. I have really pale skin and I feel that the shade of the liquid one would really suit my skin tone. I think I much prefer liquid foundation to stick foundation.
    Clem xx
    http://www.clemloves.co.uk

  30. Melanie
    16th January 2019 / 8:55 pm

    I’d love to try Colourpop but the shipping is too much for me… as soon as they get stocked in the UK though? I’m on it x

    Melanie || http://www.melaniewithanie.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this:

Looking for Something?