Coffee in a Bag?! | Lyons Coffee Review

Hi guys, so you can buy coffee in a bag? Like a tea bag? But coffee? As you can probably tell, this is all pretty new to me. When I got the email from Lyons coffee asking if I’d like to try some, I was way too curious to say no. For those of you who don’t know, I’m obsessed with coffee. I could drink it by the bucket. And I can be a coffee snob, I drink mine strong and black, so the quality of the bean is really important to me.  

It’s funny, I’d never heard of coffee in a bag until I received that email, then in the next week or so, it started cropping up everywhere. I mentioned it to my mum and she said she’d had some at her hairdressers’ the week before. We went to visit some family and we were served coffee in a bag, the exact ones I was waiting to arrive in the post funnily enough. Clearly, I’ve been living under a rock and they’re way more popular than I thought.  

How does it work? 

So, the idea of coffee bags is that you get the flavour and freshness that you would with ground coffee but it’s obviously way more convenient.  

You make them just like tea, put the bag in the cup and add boiling water, let it brew for a few minutes then you’re good to go. As I said, I like mine strong so I actually left my bag in my cup while I was drinking mine. I do this with teas too.  

Tastes like fresh coffee? 

I think saying it tastes exactly like freshly ground coffee is a bit of a stretch, these bags haven’t replaced my cafetière completely. But they certainly have some good uses.  

Each bag comes individually wrapped so they stay as fresh as possible, which is great because there’s nothing more disgusting than stale coffee.  

Time 

Of course, if you’re making a fresh pot of coffee, it needs time to brew before you plunge. These bags are certainly easier for on the go or making smaller amounts.  

Convenient 

It’s far easier to make coffee in smaller portions this way. If you’re making coffee for one, these are ideal. And there’s less wastage, you don’t have to guess how much coffee or water you need etc.  

Speaking of wastage, another major plus is that the bags are compostable so they’re environmentally friendly too!

Strength  

They come in strengths 2, 3 and 4 so you should be able to find one that suits your preference. I got sent some 2 and 3 bags, the three left to brew for a few minutes in a keep cup tastes roughly like a 3 or 4 strength bean in freshly ground coffee.  

I knew the 2 wouldn’t be to my taste to drink so I’m going to play around with these ones in baking and see what I can come up with. Read: some sort of coffee cake/ loaf coming soon.  

lyons coffee

Best Uses  

While these bags haven’t replaced my morning pot of coffee, I think they’re ideal for certain situations. Making a single cup of coffee for one person, perfect. Keeping some in the car, individually wrapped for guaranteed freshness, ideal. They also work out at 15p a bag so are a lot cheaper than coffee on the go. Keeping some at work to keep things quick and easy, again, ideal.  I’m really excited to see how it works out when I bake with them too!

Overall, I think they’re a great option to have in your cupboards and perfect for on the go. Have you ever tried coffee in a bag? What do you guys think? If you haven’t, is it something you’d like to try? 

Until next time,  

Sophie 

Follow:
Share:

38 Comments

  1. 13th December 2018 / 5:11 pm

    I had never heard of a coffee bag. Like a tea bag with coffee. I guess for coffee on the go it is perfect or when you don’t want to make a whole batch indeed

  2. 13th December 2018 / 5:16 pm

    I’ve never heard of coffee in a bag either but thinking about it, it is quite a genius idea! It’s perfect if you are on the go and just want to take a few bags with you and it’s great they are individually wrapped for freshness. Also, popping a few of these in a subscription or self-care box would be a sweet idea! I’m looking forward to see the result when you bake with them too. Great review Sophie! <3 xx

    Bexa | http://www.hellobexa.com

    • 15th December 2018 / 11:39 pm

      I thought it was such a good idea when I read about them. Was just hoping they worked out! Popping them in a self care box is such a great idea! Thanks for reading x

  3. 13th December 2018 / 5:24 pm

    Coffee in a bag is an interesting concept. As you said, these seem really convenient and easy to carry in your handbag. I’ve never tried coffee in a bag before, but I’m tempted to try it.

    Eve | http://www.evemorganinteriors.com

  4. 13th December 2018 / 5:27 pm

    These sound ideal for me, and as you said for the car. Imagine being able to replace horrible petrol station coffee with something that tastes good 🙂

    • 15th December 2018 / 11:55 pm

      That’s great! I think they’d work really well for a purpose like that. Especially as you do longer road trips x

  5. 13th December 2018 / 6:59 pm

    I don’t drink coffee, but coffee in a bag sounds like tea

    • 15th December 2018 / 11:40 pm

      Haha that’s exactly it! Just like a tea bag! x

  6. 13th December 2018 / 7:10 pm

    I’ve never tried coffee in a bag but it makes perfect sense, doesn’t it? Sometimes I’d like a cup of real coffee but I don’t want to make a full a cafetiere as I’d be high as a kite. I’ll have to look into these, thank you for the review, Sophie, this is very new to me too! x

    Lisa | http://www.lisasnotebook.com

  7. 13th December 2018 / 7:30 pm

    Interesting concept! Sounds convenient but not sure it would replace my fresh ground coffee.

    Holly x
    http://www.ldnmuse.com

    • 15th December 2018 / 11:41 pm

      Definitely doesn’t replace it but they’re great for convenience x

  8. 13th December 2018 / 8:39 pm

    Coffee in a bag is a really great idea! I’m surprised it’s not popular yet. Love your photos Sophie!

    Taiwo | alifestylenerd.wordpress.com

    • 15th December 2018 / 11:59 pm

      I think they’re becoming more popular. I looked for them in a shop the other day and found a few brands had them now. Thank you so much! x

      Sophie

  9. 13th December 2018 / 8:57 pm

    I think coffee in a bag is such an interesting thing. I only imagine tea being in bags but this concept is definitely ideal for someone on the go! Thanks for sharing!

    cabin twenty-four

  10. 13th December 2018 / 9:04 pm

    Okay but does anyone else think the cup is really cute too?! I’m more of a tea-drinker myself but this is such a good idea for a brand x

    Morgan // http://www.justmorgs.com

    • 15th December 2018 / 11:58 pm

      I loved the little cup! My mum keeps trying to steal it from me for her work commute x

      Sophie

  11. 13th December 2018 / 9:42 pm

    Super excited to see what you end up baking with these – I’m not a cofffee drinker at all, but I don’t mind a subtle hint of it in baked goods from time to time..

  12. 14th December 2018 / 1:18 am

    I’ve not heard of coffee in a bag either! Isn’t it crazy how that works sometimes–you learn about something new, and then it pops up everywhere all of a sudden?! I love that these are compostable as well, that’s amazing. I’m pretty excited to see how you integrate this into baking creations! x

  13. 14th December 2018 / 1:36 am

    I’ve seen coffee in a bag, but not for single cups. I like this idea. It would be nice to store in the cabinet and have on hand. This is a really nice option for people that live alone.

  14. 14th December 2018 / 6:58 am

    I’ve never heard of coffee in a bag before, but that sounds so convenient! I definitely need to look into this… especially for when we’re camping!
    Britt | http://alternativelyspeaking.ca

  15. 14th December 2018 / 3:10 pm

    It wasn’t long ago that I discovered coffee bags, so you’re not the only one to have been under a rock! I’ve never been much of a coffee person myself, but for me coffee bags are the only way I can tolerate drinking it!

    Katt | http://www.thirteenbeautysecrets.com

  16. 14th December 2018 / 7:52 pm

    I’ve never heard of coffee bags before but I’m intrigued by the concept. I’m not a coffee drinker myself but most of my fsmily are.

  17. 14th December 2018 / 8:05 pm

    I have never heard of these before but oh my gosh as a massive coffee lover these sound incredible! I really wanna try them so much right now so will be ordering them asap – thanks for sharing and making me aware of them lovely! ✨

    With love, Alisha Valerie x | http://www.alishavalerie.com

  18. 14th December 2018 / 8:21 pm

    Omg?!!! Coffee in a BAG?! I’ve never seen or heard about this and I’m so confused??? I can see the convenience of them, especially as they’re individually wrapped! Also, I actually can’t wait for your coffee recipes with the weaker teabags!

    Jas xx | https://thoughtsfromjasmine.co.uk

  19. 14th December 2018 / 9:02 pm

    I have never seen this before! I would definitely give it a go – I think it would be weird at first because you will probably be expecting to taste tea haha – I will keep an eye out for these the next time I go shopping.

    Hayley | hayleyxmartin

  20. 14th December 2018 / 9:28 pm

    Maybe the fact I’m not a coffee drinker is why I haven’t heard of these but what a genius idea – I wonder how long this has been around? Fantastic review!

  21. 14th December 2018 / 11:31 pm

    I have never heard of coffee in a bag! Sounds wonderfully weird and I’d be up for giving that a go!

    • 15th December 2018 / 11:44 pm

      It does sound strange at first! Worth a try though! Thanks for reading x

  22. 15th December 2018 / 1:41 am

    This is such a neat idea. While this is my first time learning about this, I can definitely see the convenience in a product like this. Especially if you live a busy life. Thank you for introducing me to this.

    The ME Project| jointhemeproject.com

  23. 15th December 2018 / 7:18 am

    I’ve heard of coffee in a pod but haven’t heard of coffee in a bag. It is interesting because it’s pretty much like tea. I love that the overall packaging of the packets are environmentally friendly. You can toss it in the garden and it’ll become one with the earth. Glad you enjoyed the coffee!

    Nancy ♥ exquisitely.me

  24. 15th December 2018 / 11:03 am

    Ooh I’ve never heard of coffee bags either. I don’t really drink coffee but this sounds so handy- if it’s 15p a bag you’d save a fortune by drinking these on the go instead of buying take out from a coffee shop wouldn’t you?! Such an interesting concept!

    Soph – https://sophhearts.com x

  25. 15th December 2018 / 8:44 pm

    They’re really quick and easy. Just like fresh coffee, a little too strong for me!

  26. Michelle Blackadar
    15th December 2018 / 8:46 pm

    i’m not a coffee drinker so i’m going to use that as my excuse for not knowing about coffee in a bag but i’m going to have to tell my brother about this. these would be great for when he goes on business trips that way he doesn’t always need to run to starbucks for his coffee fix. great post xx

    mich / simplymich.com

  27. 15th December 2018 / 9:47 pm

    That’s really cool. I’ve never seen this, and I like the idea of having different strengths.

  28. 16th December 2018 / 12:23 am

    I have never heard of coffee in a bag before – this is an amazing idea! I can think of so many instances where this would make my life so much easier (I do have a rather unhealthy coffee addiction) 🙂

  29. Joy Corkery
    16th December 2018 / 9:31 am

    I’m not a coffee drinker but this is an interesting concept.

  30. 21st December 2018 / 8:58 pm

    I hadn’t actually heard of them before until a few weeks ago when my boyfriend randomly mentioned it and we went and got some in Sainsbury’s. I can’t remember the brand but he seemed to enjoy them! It sounds like it’s a good idea to me – they make things so much easier and more convenient if you don’t have a lot of time. Great review! 🙂

    Amy,
    https://creativenails.uk

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this:

Looking for Something?